24
Mar
13

Sora’s Kimono Arrangement and Doll Meets

After “another” month of blog hiatus, we continue with the kimono theme and this time I’ll go over the several modification I’ve added to Sora’s clothing over the last few weeks. Like with the military clothing, kimonos are quite augmentable and leave you with lots of space to customize and make-do. In my case I’ve folded the suso inwards to enable more mobility, modified how the obiage was tied around her waist, made a obikazari out of spare parts and bought a flower decoration/sensu/2 additional obi strands/miniature hanya mask/Geta. I’ve also fiddled with the kitsune mask so that she can keep it on her head without having to use the white rubber band – the band though smooth makes a mess when I try to put it on her long black hair. Kinda hard to notice but I’ve also renewed her black wig and modded her bangs in the usual style as well. There’s just so much to work and plethora of arrangement examples to get inspiration from too. The only difficulty with kimonos are the limited poseability. I had to adjust the same pose dozen of times and retake that shot in many different angles to get some interesting shots which is partly the reason why it took so long for this post to come up. I was also occupied with the things that came up in my personal life as well. Family stuff, job stuff and etc. I suppose they’re heading in a good direction but with new privilege comes new responsibility which could mean even less time to update this blog ;P

(私生活や仕事でバタバタしていた関係で暫く放置していたブログですが、ソラの着物アレンジは以前と変わらずボチボチと進めていたので今回まとめて報告です。)

P1180032-3

P1180041

P1170853

P1170873Some close-ups of the modified obi.

P1170872The obikazari and sensu (japanese fan). The sensu I heard was placed inside the obi like so as a substitute for omamorigatana (a short talisman sword).

P1170869An artificial flower decoration I’ve picked up at Volks. Thinking I should’ve gone with a lighter color but this was all they had in stock. In the pics below you’ll also see her with a dried pink-ish flower which I stopped using shortly after the pedals started coming off…

P1170730The hanya mask I picked up at Asakusa the other day. A bit too small for 1/3 sized dolls but perfect for small decoration. It’s held on her waist with a chirimen string I found at Yuzawaya.

P1170820I bought this Geta at the Yokohama Doll Show held last month. Great design but a shame that there aren’t any DD feet parts for these type of wear. SDs had them I think?

P1170833It seldom shows up in the pictures but is a nice addition.

P1170818I also picked this ninja sword-type letter opener at Asakusa. It’s way too short and a bit tacky so it’ll be her temporary sub-weapon.

P1170810You’ll also notice she has the DD holding hand parts with the tighter grip. Was lucky enough to grab this at Volks after the Idoll held earlier this month. They’re usually out of stock like with everything else ;P 

P1170875

P1170642And this is a pic taken at our display table during Idoll 37. The display area was pretty spacey and had good lighting but couldn’t find anything I wanted in the dealer’s booth. This could be because a lot of dealers that frequent this event went to the Osaka Hometown Dolpa.

P1170644Arab-san’s beautiful Sakuya with her new sensu. It’s the same type as Sora’s so this is what it would look like when opened. This look is really starting to grow on me ;3

P1170645Yumemi-san’s Yumemi looking grander than the last time we met. I need to find a quality kimono like this for Xera but no luck so far.

P1180043Speaking of which, I modded a MSD sized normal kimono into a mini-skirt type short while back. It was meant for Xera but didn’t like the coloring so you probably won’t be seeing this anymore.

P1170647Sora’s kimono arrangement wasn’t quite complete at this time.

P1170648Baradanji-san’s Reika with her new head ornament.

P1170649Ningyo-san’s Sanji.

P1170650SOS-san’s Feito-chan with Oppai Tamashii (or was that revolution?).

P1170651SOS-san’s Miku.

P1170657Last Nostalgic-san’s Alter. Just love how he carefully coordinated each piece. Sorry about the blurry picture ><

P1170658

P1170659SEN-san’s glass-eyed daughter.

P1170660Torute-san’s daughter.

P1170663And this is Torute-san’s latest daughter. Can’t seem to recall their names tho :/P1170662

P1170664Preji-san’s daughter on the left and Mujip-san’s daughter on the right. Love their pair look :3

P1170666

P1170667This photo was taken shortly after Idoll at Akihabara. This daughter belongs to Don-san.

P1170668Torute-san’s daughter on the left and MAT-san’s daughter on the right.

P1170845Took this photo when I coincidentally met up with Yumemi-san after work. His new daughter Tsukuyomi is wearing her new wafu-dress.

P1170697And these last few photos were taken about a week ago at Akihabara Volks when I met up with JL (nekoconeco) from twitter and figure.fm. Though only for a short time it was great meeting up and chatting with him :3 I have to visit California one of these days and meet up with him and other resident otakus.

P1170703

P1170705

P1170920Giving Sora a treat after a hard days work posing and etc.

I noticed I’ve been shooting only her since new year. With the pay raise (or normalization) I should be able to pick up a couple of clothing for the other daughters and dedicate a post for them…I hope.

P1180047And finally a random photo of my workspace as of late. Added a couple of figures I got for free ;3

I’ve also recently created an Instagram account where I upload random pics from time to time so please feel free to follow me.


17 Responses to “Sora’s Kimono Arrangement and Doll Meets”


  1. March 25, 2013 at 12:40 am

    That kimono and its look on Sora is so gorgeous. I really liked her uniform look but this kimono is really lovely on her. Sora~ ♥
    Lots of other cute DD at Idoll too. ^^

    Good to read that despite being busy and having some challenges things are getting (back) on track for you. :)

    • March 31, 2013 at 10:46 pm

      Thanks Smithy^^
      Wasn’t too sure of the color (the black and red theme) when I first saw this on sale but it’s turning out to be more promising than I could have hoped for :3 There’s still room for more improvement so more to come in the near future.

  2. March 25, 2013 at 1:46 am

    Sora is looking stunning as usual, she’s such a special girl. I never tire of seeing your girls, they’re all superb.

  3. March 25, 2013 at 3:19 pm

    Lovely pics. All of the other girls have very nice yukatas. It was great meeting you in Akihabara. Sorry I couldn’t bring one of my girls with me :( but I will try again for next time :P Looking forward to more pics of your other girls.

    • March 31, 2013 at 11:08 pm

      Thanks bro^^ I know how rough some air travel can be so totally understandable. Hope I can one day meetup with your daughters in Japan or in the states ;3

  4. March 26, 2013 at 3:44 am

    Really liking this kimono look on Sora-Sama ^^ love the contrast from the all white military hard look to the all black softer feminine image. Katana was a great choice of weapon as it’s executed with strong mind and high concentration, while the katsune mask adds a touch of mystery and shadow feel. It’s really cool that a number of you guys are all using traditional outfits at this table too. (^^) Thank you for sharing these wonderful photos with us.

    • April 1, 2013 at 12:50 am

      Thanks Otakussan^^
      Like you said, the black really does bring out her more feminine side compared to the white military uniform and when combined with other accessories it gives her a more fantasy-ish feeling that I always like on my girls. Was well worth the search I think :3
      Always a pleasure to do some sharing :) In doll events there are usually a few tables with dolls in similar theme so we figured we do something like that^^;

  5. March 26, 2013 at 4:19 am

    long time for new one photoshoot! (gonna make my day for sure! lol XD) otherwise really kinda love a new arrange one on sora-chan :) ,, i’m not a really big fan of katana much (but that didn’t mean that i don’t like katana X3) it would be great that some dealer may gonna craft a 1/3 scale spear or halberd (what a day-dream believer i am.. :3) btw Thanks a billion for sharing a new photos ,Hakusan!! どうも ありがとう。

    • April 1, 2013 at 1:00 am

      Long time indeed^^; And tks!
      Took a while in contemplating on what goes where ><
      Not sure if it's still on sale but I think I remember seeing a 1/3 scale halberd head (pole excluded) on YJA a while ago. I also remember seeing a naginata (japanese spear) sold by a dealer in one of the doll events in Japan, so when you're in the neighborhood, do take a look :3

  6. March 29, 2013 at 3:17 pm

    Awesome as always! And wow, that kitsune mask keeps calling out to me to get….in time heh. Mainly eyeing the kitsune mask, the folding fan, and some sort of red & white fancy outfit for my Varakitsu ^^.

    Hey! That katana letter-opener looks familiar. Hmm…..I got the same letter opener a long while back and had Varakitsu use it until I get her custom sword. I see you fancied yours. Nice. Loving Sora and the other Dollfies at the meet with those traditional outfits and accessories. Hoping to see more images :)

    • April 1, 2013 at 1:07 am

      Thanks man :3
      Am glad I picked up this kitsune mask when I had the chance since you seldom see one in the market ><
      The next time I'm at a doll event, I can probably pick one up for your Varakitsu too if I find one. What's the color you're looking for if I may ask?
      As for the katana, I think there were a few doll owners in the states that makes custom weapons. DOA is probably your best bet. This letter opener sword is cool and all but too short IMO ^^;
      Am getting excited to see how your doll customization will turn out X3

      • April 1, 2013 at 3:24 am

        You’re welcome :D.
        I can expect them to as well. What colors do they have? Oh? You can? Awesome. I’m seeking white and red for a Canadian-Japanese flag theme. Something that can pass off as both. Having trouble locating clothing as well.

        Patiently waiting on Bats on figure.fm to produce a Fox’s Fang sword for Varakitsu, a sacred fox sword used for sapping energy and such. As for custom. DOA? Hmm…Can’t get on it yet, probably not worthy enough. Having a bit of a trouble getting friendly comments, or so I think. :P And ya, that letter opener is handy, just short. Shall be seeking for something more her size.

        Hopefully her final form will please you. Still struggling to get outfits for obvious reasons XD.

      • April 4, 2013 at 3:11 am

        I recall they had a black/red one (the one Sora is wearing) and also a white one (was sold out when I got there so don’t know the details). I’ll probably buy the white one if I see it on sale again and won’t mind picking up an extra one ;)
        As for the kimono, this dealer has a couple that may be of your interest:

        http://openuser.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/user/kywmr102

        And oh yes, DOA had that strict moderating system where you can’t post anything until you reached a certain quota..or something. It’s good to know you were able to find someone to make her custom sword.
        Best of luck :3

      • April 5, 2013 at 5:04 am

        The ones I’m aware of are those various festival kinds (too many to count). There are also the more “traditional” ones that Shinki Fubuki and Shinki Mizuki have (original waves) with the black and then the one with the white. The black one is what your Sora has and I guess I’m seeking the white one, the one Mizuki has. I do hope they do have at least one in stock :P. Wonder if there are more types hiding around. Also been scanning stores to try and find stuff for my gal. Happy hunting time!

        Shall check that link out to see anything of interest. Hope I can find one in time for May’s Spring blooming in Ottawa (late blooming Ottawa).

      • April 8, 2013 at 10:55 pm

        I do recall seeing a mask like that in one of the doll events around here but it totally depends on luck whether or not the dealer will make them again ^^; I’ve had a couple of misfortunes myself ><
        hmm, we'll see…

  7. January 3, 2014 at 10:48 am

    I’m just a BIG fan of Sora . For me It’s the most beautiful DD I have never seen . I love the kitsune and the Oni mask , I love this style , I would like to have the same style for my DD but I fon’t found any mask or katana…


Leave a Reply

Haku1923

Dollfie Dreamer

March 2013
S M T W T F S
« Feb   Apr »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Tweets

  • カルチャーショックの連続だったが貴重な経験に感謝。自分も海外の奴らみたいに切磋琢磨せんと... http://t.co/dZ3FSllBdD 1 day ago

一言

シームレス素体がほしい

Most Recent on Flickr

Aura Miku

Idoll 41 Loot

Revamped Xera

More Photos

Most Interesting on Flickr

Haku1923. Get yours at bighugelabs.com

Blog Stats

  • 181,013 hits

FlagCounter

free counters

RSS tsubuyaku.fm

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

yosuga no sora

テレビアニメ「ヨスガノソラ」 公式サイト

当ブログについて

基本的にはリンクフリーです。画像の転載も非営利目的に限り、出典(記事のURL)を明記して頂ければOKです。

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

