20
Feb
13

Kimono Sora and SEN Studio Photoshoot

I’ve always been a fan of girls in kimono (most notably my first waifu Enma Ai from Jigoku Shoujo) and wanted one for Sora to wear but never had come across a kind that suited her style until just recently – A lot of kimonos in the market had an odd mix of fruity flamboyant colors/patterns and lacked details. This Oiran-style kimono I picked up however had the whole works including a nagajuban decorated in green and pink sakura patterns, a black furisode with asanoha patterns on the collar, a triple ribboned obi, a colorful uchikake, a hair ornament and everything seemed to fit into place. I admire how while the black furisode gives a solemn atmosphere, it’s balanced with the red used in various parts of the set to give off a vibrant feel as well. The black kitsune mask and the red bangasa I had lying around my room looked suitable for the red and black theme so I also incorporated them into the set. The seemingly out of place katana is there because Sora insisted ^^; All I’m missing now are the Getas (sandles) and maybe a couple of those doll sized tatamis and shojis as the kimono theme is surely here to stay. Although dangerous to the wallet, one of the great things about kimonos is that there is plethora of doll sized apparatus for this theme :3 Below are the review pics and also some pics taken at SEN doll photo studio situated in Abiko, Chiba prefecture where I found this gorgeous piece.

(長らく冷めていた和服熱ですが、最近漸くソラのイメージに合った着物がSENスタジオで見つかったので試着早々に購入。花魁風といっても赤と黒が基調で、派手ながらもシックに纏まっている感じが良いですね。以前購入した狐のお面、番傘、刀を追加したら中々様になった気がします。記事の前半は今回購入した服のレビューで後半は何時ものメンツと行ったSENスタジオ撮影会の様子です。)

P1170635

P1170606

P1170441

P1170471

P1170474

P1170478

P1170480The hair ornament is much like the ones Sora had on in her military uniform outfit with the flowers and strings. Debating on whether or not to add some black feather on the top…

(付属の髪飾りは軍服で使っていたのとどことなく似ていて良いなーと。黒羽を追加するものアリっぽいんですが、どうでしょう。)

P1170479The obi ribbon is reversed because of its enormous size and how it constantly got in the way during posing. I think I’m supposed to fold the obiage inwards but oh well…

(帯はリボンのボリュームが邪魔だったので後ろに回して着用。帯揚げは真ん中ら辺を内側に折る筈だったような…)

P1170506-2The kitsune mask I bought in one of the Dolpas can be worn like so.
P1170508
Leaves no staining too as far as I can tell. And speaking of masks, I remember trying to create a doll sized Majora’s mask out of wood and failing miserably long ago ;3  The next time I try, I’ll probably create a 3D model and ask someone or some company with a rapid prototyping machine to print it out for me.

(お面は着用可能で短時間なら色移りもしなさそうです。)P1170611

P1170511 Whenever she’s not wearing it, she hangs the mask around her hips like Ririchiyo does.P1170499And that’s about it for the review part.

P1170379

This is how the kimono looked like when I first tried it out at SEN studios. A lot of things didn’t work out the way I wanted it to so it took me a several tries to get it on right. The girl on the left is Arab-san‘s Sakuya btw, who also fancied the kimono. Baradanji-san‘s Reika also got her self a kimono but didn’t have time to take a photo of her. We were all kept pretty busy with our own daughter’s photoshoot and not to mention shopping…

(購入当時のデフォルト状態はこんな感じ。スタジオ撮影に来た筈が後半戦は皆黙々と娘達に服を試着させていたという…。SENも上手い商売しますねぇ。)
P1170272

The shop section with loads of clothing.

(商品コーナー)

P1170273

And here are the shots of all the photobooth I’ve taken for reference. These all fit 1/3 scale dolls and were pretty impressive.

(参考用にスタジオ内の1/3スケールブースを数枚パシャリ。)
P1170274

P1170275

P1170276

P1170277

P1170278

P1170279

P1170280

P1170281

P1170282

P1170283

P1170284

P1170285

P1170286

P1170287

P1170288

P1170289

P1170290

P1170295

And here are the photos of Sora during this photo session. Although Sora’s right forearm broke at the beginning of the photoshoot and was struck on the back of her head with one of the stage sets due to strong wind, we had a pretty good day nonetheless…^^; There were so many photobooth to choose from!

(そして以下が今回撮影したソラの写真。撮影序盤から上腕内部フレームがポッキリ逝ったり、強風にあおられてブースの小物がヘッド後頭部に直撃したり、色々とハプニングが起きましたが、それでも結構充実した時間が過ごせましたね。ブースの種類が多すぎて何を撮るか迷うくらいでしたw)

P1170307

P1170308

P1170337

P1170351
P1170373
The 5 hour time limit went flew by pretty quick and had only a handful of usable pictures. Think I need to work on my speed more and improvisation skills for next time…

(あっという間の5時間でした。次回はもう少し撮影スピードとアドリブ力を鍛えて挑みたいです…)


21 Responses to “Kimono Sora and SEN Studio Photoshoot”


  1. 1 rinka555
    February 20, 2013 at 9:21 pm

    Beautiful shots, sorry I haven’t had the chance to visit lately due to work and time constraints but it’s lovely to see these amazing images of Sora, a vibrant colour against the stark black really makes the Obi and the Kimono trimmings really shine. The Kitsune mask is a great addition to the set, gives this nice mysterious kinda of look. That all I can write for now friend as I’m running out of minutes before tomorrow class ^^; till next time.

    • February 24, 2013 at 12:06 am

      Thanks Rinka~
      I’ve been kept pretty busy myself with work and other stuff so sorry for the lack of updates ><
      Infinite Love (the maker's name) has really outdone his/herself striking a good color balance in this kimono. Dark and not too lively to match Sora's expression and the kind of poses I make her do. The black kitsune mask was a pretty lucky find too since it being the last 2 in stock at the previous doll event.
      Best of luck with school work and enjoy! I'm starting to miss my school days…;3

      • 3 rinka555
        February 24, 2013 at 12:23 am

        Haha sorry, I don’t mean to pressure you into updating often ;3; just glad to see you’re still keeping up with your hobbies etc.

        Yes, working and studying doesn’t help with one’s free time at all ._.

      • March 1, 2013 at 2:00 pm

        Hey no worries ^^; I still love customizing/photographing my daughters and it’s a good opportunity to take my mind off from work every once in a while.

  2. February 20, 2013 at 11:50 pm

     着物がよくお似合いですね。
     SENさんのところはネットでも買えるのでたまに利用させていただいてます。着物も買ったことがあります。
     それにしても普通の民家っぽいところにそんなスタジオがあるんですね。驚きです。
     わたしのところからはあまりに遠いので利用できませんけど、近くだったら行ってみたい場所ですね。

     それからリンクありがとうございました。

    • February 24, 2013 at 12:16 am

      どもですー。こちらこそリンクと紹介ありがとでした!
      この価格でこのディテールと質感を出せるのは中々頭が下がりますね^^;
      スタジオの外見は本当に普通の民家なのでタクシーの運ちゃんが道を間違えたり、ちょっと探すのに苦労するところでしたw
      それでも撮影ブース数、品数を考えると十分ペイするスタジオですよ。機会がありましたら是非是非〜

  3. 7 Salica
    February 21, 2013 at 3:15 am

    That is a fantastic place !! I’ll have to work on my studio in the basement XD

    • February 24, 2013 at 12:20 am

      Was quite the surprise for all of us^^; Wish I had 1 or 2 of these sets in my room but would be a daunting task to make space for such a thing >< One of the demerits of living in Japan…

  4. February 21, 2013 at 4:29 am

    That kimono on Sora is absolutely gorgeous, simply stunning. Like seeing kimono on DD (even though they often offer limited pose-ability) and this one really is lovely. The obi ribbon to the back is much better, gives it a lot more balanced look on Sora, as if she’s a dignified yet lethal Yamamoto Nadeshiko.
    The fox mask makes for a great accessory.
    I look forward to more shots of her in the kimono.

    That studio looks great, lots of different themed booths. Would love to visit a place like that someday.

    • February 24, 2013 at 12:35 am

      Thanks Smithy^^
      I couldn’t agree with you more on the limited poseability. The 帯 locks the stomach joint and you can’t bend the arm much with layers of 袖. I don’t know how I’d be able to pose at all with the obi-ribbon in front. The ribbon kind of made her head look even smaller so so thus the arrangement^^; Other than that though, this kimono and the kitsune mask were an excellent find.
      Hoping to shoot more once I get more accessories for her in the upcomming Doll Show and Idoll.
      Oh, and yes would definitely recommend you try out the studio when you’re around the neighborhood :3

  5. February 21, 2013 at 6:50 am

    Oh! Awesome and gorgeous images! Kimono looks nice, fitting for your lovely Sora. Even on the “little” things you put on her. That awesome aura/vibe she gives off is amazing, that “mysterious” one. My kind of girl and vibe. The fox/kitsune mask caught my eye because of Shinki Fubuki. Now that I know it exists in DD form I must get my hands on one (for Varakitsu), and myself heh.

    The SEN images look nice as well. Sucks that Sora took damage, easy repair I hope? Looks like a nice place to photoshoot at.

    • February 24, 2013 at 12:51 am

      Thanks Artic Kitsune^^
      Had a feeling the Kitsune mask would catch your attention with you being a huge kitsune fan XD There’s quite a few dealers selling these masks in figure/doll events in Japan. The red and black color is more of Aura’s theme color and not Sora’s so was kinda surprised to see her fit naturally in it. Gives her a 妖怪 (Yokai)-ish feel I think.
      There’s no easy way to completely fix an internal frame so I just flushed down some hot glue into the arm to completely stabilize it inside the outer skin. Really need to buy her a new body since it’s been 2-3 years ^^;

      • February 28, 2013 at 3:30 pm

        You’re welcome :) Ha! And it did. Yup, gotta hunt it down within this or next year. Gotta love the unexpected surprising you, always the best when it does. She looks awesome when you say she doesn’t match.
        Hot glue? Good luck! 3 years? That has me worried because I’m thinking of turning mine into wishful fox – 9 years then I gotta do something special ^^. If I’m still attached to it would be a miracle in itself hmm?

      • March 1, 2013 at 3:04 pm

        Tks~. Not everything works tho of course since you can’t always try them out on your daughters before you purchase them like in this studio here^^;
        hmm…have never heard of this wishful fox but 9 years should easy if you can get past your 2nd and 3rd :3 Stable job too not to mention…><

  6. February 21, 2013 at 12:16 pm

    You know, I really have to say… I can never get tired of Sora.. no matter how many times I see her in the same outfit, but hey.. different outfits are good too. Like this Kimono and Mask look we have today (^^) now wallpaper saved XD That place looks like an awesome place to visit for photos, I can’t believe there are actually Doll specific studios like such… gees.. I live in the wrong country.

    And I hope Sora can recover from her damage soon (☍﹏⁰)

    • February 24, 2013 at 1:12 am

      Sup Otaku-san and thanks!
      I’d hate to think what the other girls would say but Sora is probably my fave too since I can get so much photos and ideas from her. Didn’t think I’d be shooting her military outfit for over 10 months tho^^;
      The studio was really a haven for doll owners wanting to shoot outside or in a booth. SEN originally bought this house to use as an office and store their stocks and am hoping others would follow :3 Could be difficult in the US or Canada tho since doll owners live far apart from each other ><
      I gave Sora an 応急処置 (quick fix up) so she should be fine for the time being. Really need to freshen her up with a new body…

  7. February 21, 2013 at 4:46 pm

    Wow…that’s a nice kimono, the first time I got my Saber into one took me hours to secure her belts…still need some additional training for me ^_^|||

    The SEN’s studio is really nice, it would be fun to shoot at there and I won’t 5hr would satisfy me….haha

    • February 24, 2013 at 1:19 am

      Thanks man^^
      I’m still a padawan learner myself when it comes to dressing girls, especially in traditional outfits like Kimono. Good thing google-sensei is there to show me the ropes^^;
      The next time I’m there in the summer, we’re gonna have to rent it for like 10 hours like with most other places :3

  8. 19 Q
    February 28, 2013 at 12:58 am

    Nice kimono for your Sora! Indeed a lot of kimonos are vibrant in colour and even flamboyant, but yours is a very interesting contrast from those; being much darker and plainer except for the waist and sleeves. Arab’s Sakuya looks very nice in her kimono too though!

    The SEN studio sure houses a lot of booths! I gotta say it’s impressive how there are all sorts of props in 1/3 scale placed in one place! I can imagine how time can quickly pass posing and taking photos with many settings available~ Sorry to hear that Sora went through a bit of damage, but I do hope she gets fixed soon!

    • March 1, 2013 at 2:34 pm

      Thanks Q!
      Details and variations are always appreciated in any kind of clothing but just as long as it’s not overdone and doesn’t become too assertive^^; Think the maker did very well in striking a good balance in mine and Arab-san’s kimono.

      It’s hard to work in most photo studios since everything is scaled in human size but this one has literally everything in 1/3, 1/6 scale and was quite inspiring. It could still use a few touchups here and there but definitely worth your visit :3
      Sora seems to doing fine now, but I really need to get a DD3. Can’t stand the stiff DD2 anymore ><


Leave a Reply

Haku1923

Dollfie Dreamer

February 2013
S M T W T F S
« Jan   Mar »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
2425262728  

My Tweets

一言

シームレス素体がほしい

Most Recent on Flickr

Aura Miku

Idoll 41 Loot

Revamped Xera

More Photos

Most Interesting on Flickr

Haku1923. Get yours at bighugelabs.com

Blog Stats

  • 185,537 hits

FlagCounter

free counters

RSS tsubuyaku.fm

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

yosuga no sora

テレビアニメ「ヨスガノソラ」 公式サイト

当ブログについて

基本的にはリンクフリーです。画像の転載も非営利目的に限り、出典(記事のURL)を明記して頂ければOKです。

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

