31
Jul
11

Puella Magi☆Homura Magica

Well, this post has been way overdue since I announced that I will be done writing by the end of last week. For the constant readers out there I apologize for the delay. Just wanted to make sure I had everything in place for the photoshoot since as some may know, I am a huge fan of Madoka Magica, especially Homura. Love her character design, personality, voice actress and her battle scenes (`・ω・´). Hommando!!! XD

The Akemi Homura cosplay clothing you’ll see in the following pictures was bought from one of the dealers in the Wonder Festival Summer 2011 that took place two Sundays ago. There were 2 dealers selling Puella Magi (Madoka, Homura, Mami…etc) cosplay clothing for DDs, one them was around 15000 yen and the other 25000 yen. At first glance the first dealer’s price was attractive and the clothing they sold seemed better in terms of color replication but after some consideration, I went with the second dealer’s expensive one. Experience in shopping for doll clothing at YJA and elsewhere has taught me that in most cases, the more you pay the better you get^^;

Anyways, without further ado, I give you Puella Magi☆Homura Magica~

Actually, it took me a while to come up with the title for this post and thought of going with “Puella Magi☆Sora Magica in respect to my Aura Magica post but since this Sora here doesn’t carry a trace of Sora-ness, I figured going with this title. Combining names didn’t work out either (Hosomura….Hosora..Somura…).

Homura’s black pantyhose with the diamond patterns is replicated fairly well. The high heels weren’t included so this is a make-do from Saber Lily’s dress set.

To my surprise, Homura’s soul gem was also included in the cosplay set. Didn’t want to have it permanently on one hand so I just attached it with the tape you use to hold wigs in their place. Works like a charm ;3

The ribbon on the back is also very nicely made with what I think is a shiny nylon of a sort? Also thought the frills added to the skirt was a nice touch.

I can understand why the dealer didn’t include their weapons but Sora didn’t really feel like Homura without her shield so I sought out for it and bought it at YJA. Yes, gotta have YJA XD

The shield unfortunately was a garage kit and not assembled nor painted so I had to spend quite a lot of time tinkering and brushing. Not the skillful type when it comes to models.

From what I heard, Urobuchi only meant Homura to store things that could fit inside her shield but upon making the Walpurgis battle the other staff kinda went overboard and made her summon all sorts of artillery^^;

So yeah, Sorahomu here will also be able to summon pretty much anything X3

Sorahomu’s stash of weapons (´・ω・`;) The silver handmade grenade you see in the middle was also a part of the cosplay set. Not the best quality replica, but it does it’s job.

I think most of you are familiar with the handgun from the “School Girl Sora” post back in April. Not appropriate for Homura since her gun in Madoka Magica was what I think was a Desert Eagle? Correct me if I’m wrong^^;

This M60 machine gun here is something I recently bought just for this occasion. It’s made out of metal, study and doesn’t fall into pieces like the junk I bought from Trumpeter.

It’s heavy but nothing Homu Homu can’t take X3 Might attach a strap to it though just in case I wanted to take her to a convention or a doll event…hmm

Most notable I think is the cocking action you can do in the lever you see here. It’s kinda hard to tell from the photos  but you can pull the lever back and retract it by pressing the trigger. Neat stuff :3

…..( ̄ー ̄)

Sora/Homura: I’m tired. Mind if I take a break?

Oh, not at all. Don’t mind me, I’ll just keep on taking pictures. 

Sora: Hey…

W-what?

Sora/Homura: Have you been peeping photos like this from the beginning?^^

No no, you have it all wrong. I just wanted to…..

Sora/Homura: uh huh, keep on going…(clicks)

Show everyone what a nice clothing you have on and went into…

…..details.

oh shiiiiiiiii……..(((( ;゚Д゚))))

Sora/Homura: Perv..

(シャフト角度/Shaft Angle)

Sora/Homura: Now to rewind time and stop him from taking ecchi photos. Let’s see….Sora/Homura: Ah, here we go.

29 Responses to “Puella Magi☆Homura Magica”


  1. July 31, 2011 at 8:36 pm

    Haha That was so funny XD awesome outfit! i also believe in the more you pay the better it is ^^; which sucks XD

  2. 3 MitsukiAdored
    July 31, 2011 at 10:10 pm

    GORGEOUS outfit. I was planning on getting this commissioned for my own Mio as well ;) but you truly topped it all off with her weapons! The shield is very detailed and amazing! Dunno if I will be able to beat ya now tehe. Sora is as gorgeous as always. Hope to see more from you soon Haku-kun! ^_^

    • August 2, 2011 at 4:54 pm

      Thanks^^ It was a matter of luck really that I’d been able to get these outfits and accessories^^;
      Hmm…strange coincidence but an excellent choice my friend ;3 Mio’s eyes and wig are already good to go as Homura’s even in their default form and her pointy eyes (tsurime) goes well with her character. I bid you good luck in your Mio Homura~

  3. August 1, 2011 at 4:27 am

    Wow Wow, a true Sora Homura now you’ve got (^_^) She looks great, the shield is a bit small, but does the job… The outfit look very good, the details are accurate and the materials looks pretty good in quality (from the pictures they do at least). Another great post with great pictures once again (^^)b

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:00 pm

      Thanks~
      Yeap, after playing around with Sora pretending she had the same ability as Homura. I figured it’s time I got her an authentic puella magi clothing^^ The shield I think is actually bigger than it’s supposed to be but I don’t mind the sizes much really ;) What did concern me was the materials used on the clothing and that’s kinda why I went for the more expensive one^^; The cheaper one is good but material-wise…..not so good ><

      • August 3, 2011 at 4:32 am

        And as we see now, the extra cost was much paid off… just look at how adorable Sora is *melts….* you sure knows now to make a mio-type look good (^^)b and Sora’s still my favorite Mio on the internet XD

      • August 3, 2011 at 4:18 pm

        Very nice of you to say so Otakusan^^ Sorahomu’s temper is finally calming down thanks to you guys XD

  4. August 1, 2011 at 9:40 am

    Haha this shoot was a lot more amusing than I’d expected

    Once again with words of praise,
    Great pictures of Sorahomu along with her stash of awesome weapons, she looks real bad ass (as intended I guess :P) when she has all those weapons around her.

    That shield looks like an actual official accessory, honestly wouldn’t be able to tell it was a GK from the photos it’s well made. Aww man I have always wanted that M60, I’d love to get one but the laws regarding replica weapons here will surely get it confiscated at customs if I ever do order one (´・ω・`). Your use of that Pipe bomb sure made this post very much more interesting to read, I love it when you do a little omake of some sort at the end if posts, adds a nice personal touch.

    In reply to the previous post
    I sure would love to give you a bell if I do go, maybe next year if i manage to stop using my funds so much ^^; or else I’d be going at the end of this year with Aya Kyunik. But alas purchasing a car sure has slashed those plans (´; ω ;`).

    チェェェェェェン!!! Yay! looks like she’s arrived! Be sure to DM Paypal details when you’re ready x3!~Thanks So much again Haku-san. Ihave something in mind to send you as a thank you gift for both Sora & Aura so please send me your mailing address too ( ・ω・)b

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:56 pm

      Thanks!^^ She packing heavy now, but my ultimate goal is to get Sorahomu somewhere near Homura’s capability in the battle of Walpurgis. Rocket cannons, missiles…etc. Expect more harsh ending when that day comes X3
      Kinda hard to tell from the photos but there are still some blotches of unpainted parts here and there so I might do some minor fixups in the coming days^^; I think this is my second time painting a GK.
      but damn, is it that harsh even with 1/3 sized replica weapons that can’t even shoot a pea?

      Ah, I see. I remember coming to Japan back in the days wasn’t the least expensive trip out there^^; Do make sure you save up~

      All righty, will do when I get the time to go to the post office :) Sora and Aura will be excited to hear this news! Might be busy until Saturday working and doing Buddhist service stuff tho><

      • August 3, 2011 at 8:26 am

        Yeah… Australia is pretty anal when it comes to weapon replicas or any kind of replica really, if it looks somewhat real they will disallow it if you have not got the right paper work, gun/sword license etc.

        No problems there is no rush at all, just send it when you are free x3

        Best of luck at work! Ganbare degozaru!~

      • August 3, 2011 at 4:14 pm

        bummer…..(´・ω・`)
        I sure hope Chen get’s past the custom safe and sound^^;
        残りの数日間がんばりますよ~

  5. 15 薔薇男児
    August 1, 2011 at 12:14 pm

    完璧

    武器もいいですし、完璧ですな。私も杏子記事が書きたい。
    ですが、アイがイマイチ良いの見つからないし、槍なんて^^;

    杏子槍も欲しいのですが、どうせならDDサイズのゲイボルグなんて見つからないかしら。

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:21 pm

      ありがとうございます~
      火薬少女ことほむほむが使う武器入手は手間は掛かりましたが、絶対手に入らない様な代物ではないので助かりました^^;まみさんのマスケット銃とか、あんこの槍等は別次元ですね。製作依頼を出すか、運よくイベントでゲットするか。fgsiteのドール/ドルフィードリームタグやdoll.fmに登録されているブログをチェック小まめにチェックすれば希望の品と巡りあえるかもしれません。

      槍なら一応お貸しもできますよ?アウラがこの前持っていたものですが

  6. August 2, 2011 at 2:34 pm

    ほむらコス素晴らしい。

    そしてかなり似合っている。

    う~む、イーフェイは軍人だからアサルトライフルでもいいけど、魔女様・・・魔女様は魔物使いだからリーフバードを自作せにゃならんのか・・・

    • August 2, 2011 at 5:39 pm

      あざっす!
      この前のミクとの相性も中々でしたし、秋山澪ヘッドはもっと評価されるべきだと思うんだ・・・。

      アサルトライフルでしたらボークス店で見つかる筈。無ければヤフオクに出品されているAK47を持たせてあげるとかw

  7. August 2, 2011 at 6:25 pm

    いいねその服、かんぺきです。That’s an impressive Homura DD sized cosplay outfit, judging by what we see in the photos it looks very well made, that bow and the stitching and detailing is superb. Definitely looks worth every penny spent on it.
    Sora (Mio base DD) makes a good Homura too. ^^

    Some terrific shots in there as usual, love the poses and angles you used, nice work! ^^

    • August 3, 2011 at 4:08 pm

      ありがとうございますっ
      It’s all thanks to the dealer who made such a wonderful clothing and sold them at Wonder Festival :3 I personally like the slightly exaggerated ribbon on her back as it adjusts the overall balance on the costume^^ The Homura I know isn’t exactly the smiling cheerful type so I guess the Mio mold synchronized well X3

  8. August 3, 2011 at 5:39 pm

    Damm! I lol’d

    On a second thought, sure is good in wonfes ( ´ ▽ ` )

  9. 23 Q
    August 7, 2011 at 3:50 pm

    What kind of texture is that for the tights this Homura set uses? It has the opaque feel compared to other ordinary ones out there. But at least the opaque texure it can hide the joints pretty well.

    You have done a fab job on Homura cosplay there. The pictures where Sora brush her hair outwards is one of my favourites there. I can’t be fully sure, but the pistol that you got for Sora appears to be a Glock pistol. The M60 catches my attention there, and the fact that you can cock it makes me intrigued there~ Ah now if only there are ammo belt for it then it’s brilliant~

    • August 7, 2011 at 5:32 pm

      Thanks~^^ The texture is pretty much the same stuff you would see on other DD stocking, socks and whatnot. Smooth, a bit glossy, flexible and a bit more thicker but I think it was just the lighting^^;

      That pose was inspired from Homura’s habit in the anime series. Hard part was getting the hair to look like it’s flowing >< Ah, so this is a Glock pistol…I was hoping it was at least a Bereta so that it would match her anime self ;3
      Yeah, shame that it didn’t have the ammos but am too surprised by the detail of this baby here XD Here’s a link in case you’re interested in getting them for your daughter http://page6.auctions.yahoo.co.jp/jp/auction/f100955714

  10. 25 DM
    August 9, 2011 at 2:56 am

    Hello. :)
    I am considering purchasing one or more of these dolls by Volks and have some questions about them.

    1. Let’s say that I bought a Beatrice doll but wanted to dress her in Saber’s armor, do I have to buy the Saber doll, too? Or can I buy character specific costumes separately?

    2. I understand that these dolls stain easily. How do you keep dark dyes off their skin? Is your Sora discolored anywhere?

    I’d love to hear your thoughts. Thanks. :)

    • August 9, 2011 at 5:51 pm

      Hiya^^

      1. You can buy the armors and costumes of limited edition DDs separately at places like Yahoo Japan Auctions or on Ebay from sellers if you’re in luck. Do note that Volks does not sell these things separately.
      2. Some people put body stockings or cover the dolls with saran wrap but staining is almost inevitable. Sora has a small stain on her sole but nothing too serious.

  11. 27 DM
    August 9, 2011 at 3:32 am

    Also,
    3. Have you seen any FFXIII Lightning costumes for Dollfies? Or at least a scale verion of her gun/sword? I’m interested in that constume and a Dead Master with scythe and bone hands. But I don’t see anything like these anywhere. I am also interested in the Saber Lily armor and Rin’s red and black. But I don’t necessarily want to buy thsoe dollfies.

    I am actually interested in the Beatrice. But if I get another, I’d choose between the newer Yuki and the Mio. If I end up with the Mio, it would only be because of your Sora and her white hair. The Volks Mio looks fantastic with the white wig and black ribbons, but less interesting in other colors, including, I’m afraid to say, gray. In other words, I hope you will not mind another Mio out there, perhaps, one day, who sort of looks like Sora and Aura, but are not them. :p

    • August 9, 2011 at 5:58 pm

      3. No, I haven’t seen a Lightning DD clothing or her weapon in the internet or the real world. Same goes for Dead Master’s bony hands. Again like I said in question #1, you can find the armors/clothing for these limited DDs from auciton sites and buy them if you’re in luck.

      It’s okay, I don’t mind if there are others that looks like my daughters because you weren’t the first to say those words^^; and for that I thank you ;3


Leave a Reply

Haku1923

Dollfie Dreamer

July 2011
S M T W T F S
« Jun   Aug »
 12
3456789
10111213141516
17181920212223
24252627282930
31  

My Tweets

一言

シームレス素体がほしい

Most Recent on Flickr

Aura Miku

Idoll 41 Loot

Revamped Xera

More Photos

Most Interesting on Flickr

Haku1923. Get yours at bighugelabs.com

Blog Stats

  • 185,730 hits

FlagCounter

free counters

RSS tsubuyaku.fm

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

yosuga no sora

テレビアニメ「ヨスガノソラ」 公式サイト

当ブログについて

基本的にはリンクフリーです。画像の転載も非営利目的に限り、出典(記事のURL)を明記して頂ければOKです。

Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.

Join 53 other followers


Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 53 other followers

